top of page

Words Without Words

I'm a big fan of music. I'm also a big fan of history films. I always am on the listen for how music is used in a film. Music creates atmosphere. This blog post is about understanding how music helps one come to feel the way that we should in a movie setting. It is important (and obvious) to note that music in movies is anachronistic. I will be showcasing certain songs I have heard in films and comment on how they make the movie feel and how they make me feel. Tell me what you think of them. (Note: they're sad. Whether this is intentional is not for me to explain at this moment)


1) Ashokan Farewell by Jay Ungar and Molly Mason

This piece, with its simple fiddle fits the atmosphere of the Civil War (despite being written in the 1980s). Its slow melodic introduction fits the narration of the film's narrator and actors like a puzzle piece: you can't imagine anything being in its place. The addition the guitar adds enhances its haunting historic feel. This piece makes me nostalgic for a time that will never be seen again.


2) I Could Have Done More by John Williams (feat. Itzhak Perlman)

An incredible movie by all accounts but Spielberg in his genius lets the music also tell the story. This song specifically is when Schindler admits his regret for not being able to save more Jews. The famous story goes about when Spielberg approached Williams about making the soundtrack, Williams said, "you have to pick someone else." Spielberg replied, "I would, but they're all dead." That story alone highlights the potency of the music here. It speaks to a world lost forever yet hope for the world to come. Definitely is a song that makes me cry because of its personal nature. It echoes in my soul.


3) Cavatina by Stanley Meyers (played by John Williams)

The only guitar song I've ever wanted to learn is this piece. The Deer Hunter is a war movie, but more so about about what happens afterwards. This song which hints at the innocence of the soldiers and the lives they lost-whether physical or emotional. It is a piece that is simple but strikes deeper than the heart. It brings the calm and serenity to the forefront. It reminds me of walking through the woods and feeling that all was as it was. And it was good.

--


As historians, we create memories. As public historians, we create emotions associated with those memories. Music is an extremely powerful way of doing that.

bottom of page