top of page

Preliminary Thoughts

What do I intend to accomplish through this blog? I hope many things, namely: cultivate a place to gather and collect certain thoughts on my historical research, tinkering and showcase works I've done. A blog is a new form of a diary in certain ways. You share as much or as little as you want, you put your perspective of the outside world into a small textbox, and it indicates the current times to those in the future. I think this will teach me a lot about how people engage with online material at large. I hope this helps me learn about articulation through different means. I want that this project will encourage me and whoever reads this to gain yet another vantage point of how to view the world.

In this vein, I'm excited and nervous at the same time. Sharing your thoughts is a liberating and anxiety inducing experience. We think: "this could be fun" and "this could be scary" at the same time. Will I paint a vivid landscape of the world I'm currently residing in or narrow-nosed portrait of my own views? Part of being a historian and in this generation is you worry about what others will think afterwards. To overcome this fear, I should remember that I have the capacity to shut it down (nervous laugh). I don't want to. To push myself to do well here, I've envisioned these posts being read by an actor like Jason Robards in a Ken Burns documentary 60 years after the publishing. Perhaps basking in the glory of fame is one reason why I could convince myself that this is worthwhile. In any case, perhaps this could be a meaningful time more than anything. It is possible that this experience will teach me about sharing the limelight: something I have struggled with on occasion. Perhaps this blog will allow me to be frank with myself and understand where I can fit in. History is about teamwork more than anything. We work to tell stories for others. Digital history amplifies yet it also can minimize when one realizes the significant amount of material present on the web and in digital projects. However there are ways of making one's story heard.

In terms of other resources that are digital for historical research, my absolute favorite is Tableau, which is primarily a digital visualization tool and also uses GIS to make some powerful visuals. (https://www.tableau.com/) I have very much enjoyed using it in projects and for fun because it makes history apparent. In terms of amazing digital History projects, I have found that the Vincent Van Gogh project to be very enticing because it is incredibly immersive and spectacular in sight. (https://www.vangoghexhibit.ca/about/) A great online history game that is also famous (or infamous) is that of the Oregon Trail which taught users about the perils of traveling out West. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfbGEP087HM) What is the similarity between these projects? It is about being immersed. When people feel involved with the material they are learning about, it makes it tangible and more exciting as well. The digital world gives us plenty of opportunity to engage fully and wholesomely. Let's hope that we can use it fully and beneficially.



bottom of page